Wholemeal brownie

Basmala

I’ve discovered that you can use all wholemeal flour in brownie and there is absolutely no difference in taste. With all that sugar in there, it’s nice to add something slightly healthy into the mix! I’ve also reduced the sugar that was required in the original recipe.

You need:

  • 200ml melted butter or margarine (190g)
  • 1 cup sugar (220g)
  • 150g chocolate – milk or dark (or 1/2 a bag of Hershey’s chocolate chips)
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup wholemeal all-purpose flour (140g)
  • 150g chopped walnuts or pecans (optional)

Melt the sugar, butter and chocolate together – I use the microwave – and mix well.

Allow to cool slightly and then beat in the eggs and vanilla.

Finally stir in the sifted flour.

Transfer to a 9″x9″ (23cmx23cm) square baking tray and bake for 30 mins or until a skewer comes out of the centre clean.

6 thoughts on “Wholemeal brownie

  1. NeverEver

    SubhanAllah, I just figured out this same thing maybe 2 or 3 days ago! Lol, I was SO EXCITED!

    I know there is still a lot of sugar and the eggs and stuff but the whole wheat really did make me feel better 😛

    Reply
  2. Umm Ibrahim Post author

    LOL – me too FF! Makes me feel slightly better when I have that slice of cake with my tea! 😆

    Thanks for dropping NeverEver; I too was excited, lol!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: MORE Brownies! « A Thousand And One Bites

  4. Pingback: Ramadan day 3 – Cheesy Chicken Roll Ups « A Thousand And One Bites

Leave a Reply

